October 2022 | BOTM Predictions

It’s time for some October BOTM predictions! I’m so interested to see what comes out this month, as I (along with lots of other people) love witchy and horror reads in October. I mean October is officially Spooky month, and I want to read some spooky things! BOTM doesn’t have a great history of offering horror so I won’t be holding my breath for those. However, I would love to see some dark mysteries or a good witchy rom-com be picked this month!

There are a ton of historical fictions, science fiction, and quite a few debuts I’d be interested in seeing as BOTM picks. I also found that most of my predictions this month spanned multiple genres. I did my best to place them where I believe they fall, but since I have not read all of these as of yet, they may be off a bit.

I have read a few of my predictions so far and have ARCs of many of the others waiting to be read. Be sure to come back in the upcoming weeks to see reviews for these.

Whether or not my predictions are actually picks, only time will tell. Even if they are not, all or most of these are on my September Most Anticipated New Releases list and my Fall 2022 Most Anticipated List.

Fall 2022 MOST ANTICIPATED
SEPTEMBER 2022 MOST ANTICIPATED
October 2022 Most Anticipated

When the picks are announced and you find you have space in your box still, make sure to also check out my most recent version of BOTM Add-On recommendations HERE, because who couldn’t use even more books!

Keep in mind that these are simply predictions and books I hope get chosen. I could get these completely wrong but the anticipation and guessing is part of the fun right?!

Advertisements

Mystery & Thriller

My top pick is Jackal, it sounds like the perfect mix of horror and mystery. While BOTM doesn’t normally pick many horror books, I thought since this is for October, we might see a horror pick. I have an ARC of this one and hoping to get to it soon.

The Family Game seems like a safe bet for this month’s Thirller/Mystery pick. While it seems to take place around Christmas time, it seems like your standard thriller and an ideal pick for BOTM.

Romance

I’m would love to see A Cosmic Kind of Love be picked for this month’s BOTM romance. It is just the cutest little book and I absolutely adored it. BOTM hasn’t been offering as many romance picks lately, and sometimes you just need a nice feel-good book.

A Cosmic kind of love review

While The Kiss Curse comes out in September, I could definitely see it being an add-on romance pick for October. It’s a cute witchy read that is great for spooky season. The first book in the series, The Ex Hex was a BOTM pick last year and while I liked the first book best, I wouldn’t mind seeing the sequel as a pick.

The Kiss Curse Review

Historical Fiction

I had the hardest time narrowing down my Historical Fiction picks, so I just didn’t. Of the five both The Whalebone Theatre and Daughters of the New Year are debuts which sound amazing! I love a good spy book and The Whalebone Theatre sounds like it’s right up my alley.

Signal Fires, a mixture of secrets unraveling and family drama make this a likely BOTM pick.

Jess Kidd’s Things in Jars was a BOTM pick back in 2020 which I know wasn’t for everyone but I absoluetly loved it. I originally was hoping for her newest release The Night Ship to be a pick this month. I still think this could be a pick since Kidd would be a repeat author, but this one dragged for me and is a bit ‘sad’ for BOTM’s normal picks.

The Night Ship Review

Lastly, I’m not sure why but I feel like Barabar Kingsolver’s newest release Demon Copperhead could be a serious contender this month. A few of her books have been offered as Add-Ons in the past which makes me think, it could be an option this month.

Contemporary & Literary Fiction

Our Missing Hearts is one of those books that can really get filed under a few different genres. I’m just hoping it’s a pick so I don’t really care where it ends up landing.

When We Were Sisters is another debut that I feel would fit in well with BOTM. It’s a sibling drama and is on my Most Anticipated list.

Fantasy & Science Fiction

I was looking for more witchy books but suprisingly there are not as many releasing in October as I thought there would be. Maybe I’m just missing them but regardless I had a hard time narrowing down my Fantasy and Sci-fi picks.

The most likely pick is The Storyteller’s Death. Which is part mystery, part fantasy. It’s also a family drama, and BOTM loves a good family drama.

The White Hare is another strong contender for BOTM. It’s being touted for fans of Alice Hoffman and Kate Morton, both of which are previous BOTM authors. It mixes historical fiction with magical realism and is another that is on my Most Anticipated list.

I don’t have high hopes for either Sign Here or Poster Girl being picks this month. But wanted to include them anyways. Sign Here is a fun dysfunctional family murder mystery and while it’s labeled as a mystery and a horror, it’s definitely more fantasy mystery. I’ve included it in Fantasy section, just because half the book takes place in Hell but it’s more a blend.

sign here review

Poster Girl is from the author of divergent, and while this is an adult book it’s also a dystopian. I’ve seen a few dystopian books come from BOTM in the past few years, so while it’s a long shot, I think it could be a pick.

Previous BOTM Authors with Books Coming Out in October

I hope you found a book that you are truly excited about in this post. Let me know which other new releases you are excited for this month or that you’re hoping are BOTM picks, by commenting below or by messaging me on Instagram @speakingof_books. Don’t forget to follow me to get weekly updates and new reviews!

Happy Reading!

Disclaimer: Keep in mind that we may receive commissions when you click our links and make purchases. However, this does not impact our reviews and recommendation. We try our best to keep things fair and balanced, in order to help you make the best choice for you.

Leave a Reply