2020 Favorites

When you read ~125 books in a year it gets hard to sort out your favorites. Mainly because I read so many good books this year! I mean so many. Atlas, I still could not narrow down my top reads of 2020 to just 10 books, so I decided to do a top 20!

Each of these books is unique and holds a special place in my heart. Whether it was masterful writing, a beautiful story, or simply hit home for me, they are all books that I would highly recommend you read!

Most of these are 2020 releases however some are from my endlessly overflowing TBR pile. Books are listed in no particular order and all have full reviews already up on my blog that you can check out by clicking the ‘REVIEW‘ link under the book.

Advertisements

Big Lies in a Small Town is the perfect mixture of mystery and historical fiction, with just a big of art within it as well. I loved this story and my historical buff of a dad loved this one as well. It’s perfect for any person looking for an easy but wonderful story.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

An oldy but goody! I cannot believe it took me this long to read The Last Mrs. Parrish. Twisty and utterly enjoyable!

GOODREADS | AMAZON

Advertisements

The Return is perfect for my horror book lovers or just anyone who enjoys a truly weird and unexplainable story.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

One of my top 5 books for this year and our Let’s Read Rant Repeat Book Club Book of the Year for 2020. Moore seamlessly adds facts and brings awareness to the drug epidemic in the US.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

This book, ya’ll. It left me in tears. A beautiful story of love, lost, and friendship. I love Rebecca Serle’s lyrical writing, and I cannot wait for more from her.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

Advertisements

An impossibly twisty thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

Jennifer Hillier does it again with Little Secrets. This time she captures the lost of a child and the impact if has on a family.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

For fans of The Night Tiger, The Library of Legends is the journey of college age students saving China’s Library of Legends. While the story takes place during WWII, the added magical realism Chang adds into the story is perfectly mixed in.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

Advertisements

This beautiful book deserves all the awards it’s getting. Highly recommend for anyone who enjoys historical fiction but also those who enjoy multi-generational family stories.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

Advertisements

Nothing I say for this book will do it justice. Just read it. 

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

Another Let’s Read Rant Repeat Book Club pick, but also one of my backlist books. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a story of India but also one of the strongest sort of friendship and bond.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

This book got a plenty of flack for being culturally insensitive. I read plenty of reviews of folks talking about one specific point the in the book, and honestly I just don’t agree with the criticism. I loved it and thought that it was very inclusive.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

A dark mystery based on the true stories of the Paper Boy kidnappings in the 1980’s. The mixture of truth and fiction is seamlessly woven. This book gave me The Lovely Bones vibes and really makes you think about who your neighbors are.

Advertisements

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

This is such a fun book! It may be a fantasy book but it is full of humor. I cannot wait for the rest of the series to come out.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

Advertisements

A wonderful debut mystery that incorporates Native American culture. Another book that I cannot wait for the sequel to come out for.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

Another story for fans of The Night Tiger. While this one has less magical realism, the story itself is steeped in Korean mytics and legends.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

Advertisements

Women before there time is the main aspect of this wonderful historical fiction!

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

If you loved the show Dexter like I did, than this thriller is perfect for you!

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

I’m not a huge fan of short stories, but the way Reid-Benta ties each of these stories together makes this book an addicting read.

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

Gilmore Girls meets any police drama you can think of. I listened to the audio of this one. I highly recommend it both because the narrator is excellent but also the story is fabulous!

REVIEW | GOODREADS | AMAZON

Advertisements

Disclaimer: Keep in mind that we may receive commissions when you click our links and make purchases. However, this does not impact our reviews and recommendation. We try our best to keep things fair and balanced, in order to help you make the best choice for you.

Leave a Reply